I wanna move to another state

I live in California. I love the place I’m living in, but….

A good friend just moved to Seattle, WA. Another friend moved to Spokane, WA. I just renewed contact with my best friend from High School, He lives north of Seattle in Lakemount Terrace, WA. Why the exodus from Cal-i-four-knee-uh (Governator phonetics)?

I make a good living. Many of my fellow teachers think we are underpaid, I don’t. I make pretty much what a public school teacher with 15-20 years of service makes, I’m five years in. I can not go to another state and do what I do and make what I make. I’m trapped by economics.

My answer. I guess I’ll stay where I am at. There is a rumor that a big raise may be on the horizon. I’ll pursue my Master’s degree and an administrative credential to become a vice-principal/principal. Somewhere down the line, the opportunity may come that I might move away from this liberal state.

What’s the point of this rambling, meandering post? I kinda hate being so comfortable that I can’t stand the thought of a massive pay cut. Am I stuck between God and mammon? If I am, where’s the exit? Jesus, show me the way.

“May you be covered in the dust of your rabbi.”

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

