The Enemy doesn’t want me to have my quiet time

It’s been a long time since I have posted. Hopefully I will be getting back into the swing of things again.  At Spirit West Coast there was an artist, Phil Joel, who said he had a year long and 6 month reading schedule available for download on his website.  Stacy and I have joined together to read the 6 month, sometimes doubling up, by the end of the year. Part of the reading plan is to journal about the reading. This is the meditation part.  Today, I will blog out my journal.

Day 5 Matthew 7:15-8:17, Psalm 5, Proverbs 2:16-3:6

21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

This is a favorite verse of those who would attack the doctrine of eternal security.  The answer is easy enough, Jesus’ response is that he never knew them to begin with.  What I found interesting is that the people correctly identify Jesus.  Lord, Lord. It was assuredly revealed to them that Jesus was Lord by the Holy Spirit. But they only did the confession by mouth, there was no accompanying faith and belief in their hearts (Romans 10:9,10).  This was a call for me to examine myself.  This was a call to ask God to give me the once over and let me know.  Am I one of these or am I one how is known, who believes in my heart and has confessed with my mouth.  I believe I am, but it is always good to do some spiritual house cleaning.  We let stuff creep in that could hinder this most important relationship.

Proverbs 3: Let not mercy and truth forsake you;  Bind them around your neck, Write them on the tablet of your heart

Here is another verse that calls us to memorize scripture.  I think this is something that Stacy and I and the kids need to do.  In Sunday’s sermon, Phil Payne, said that to raise up a Daniel, our children must see us passionate about Jesus and reading the scriptures.  This example will be an unspoken lesson that they will learn and apply to their lives.  I desire nothing more than for my son and daughter to not make the mistakes Stacy and I did, rather to live their whole lives in service to the King.  I think, I believe that the ingraining of God’s word into our lives, our hearts, will aid that desire to become true.  I think that by memorizing scripture I will be delighting myself in the Lord and He will give me the desire my heart.

Oh, about the title.  I get up for work at about 4:30.  I am trying to make sure that I have everything cleaned, laid out, packaged up before I go to bed. I can get up, have my quiet time, journal, and go to work.  This morning during my shower/prayer time (yes, I tend to pray for the day while in the shower) I could feel the enemy trying to stick thoughts/ideas of my thorn in the flesh into my mind. I prayed against it. When I go out of the shower both of my children woke up and would not go back to sleep.  Gee, you’d almost think someone did not want my to read God word today.  Too bad, so sad, they lost, God gave the victory!!!!   

May you be covered in the dust of your Rabbi

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Faith, Rebecca, Stacy

Leave a Reply

