Giving thanks for my family

Here we are on Thanksgiving Eve getting ready for the feast that will be perpetrated on our intestinal tracks tomorrow.  Tonight has been fun.  It has been focused on family. 

We chose to get sandwiches to save ourselves the labor of cooking.  We engaged in our meal time ritual and asked what was everyone’s favorite thing of the day.  Ben said his was going out with Daddy.  Becca said her’s was playing with Daddy and Baba (brother).  Stacy declared that cuddling with me during nap was hers.  I agreed that mine was being with Mommy too.

After dinner the kids helped me with putting away the dishes.  I asked Ben and Becca to put away the silverware.  Ben told Becca what the dish was and showed her where it went.  She would put it away.  Ben and I would cheer her success.  Becca would giggle.

Wwalter-and-kids-charlie-brown-special.jpge DVR’d the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving special.  We sat down to watch it tonight.  Becca decided that I was an easy chair and nestled in.  Ben sat beside me.  Mom was off to the side in the easy chair.  Stacy and I took great joy in listening to Becca’s and Ben’s deep belly laughs as Snoopy fought the chair.  It was great to watch this classic.  I asked Ben questions during the show.  Is Peppermint Patty being thankful? No.  What should she do?  Tell Charlie Brown sorry.  Stacy and I are doing something right.

Stacy and I were getting things ready through out the evening.  I prepared my Turkey Brine.  After C.B. The kids watched a little bit of The Santa Clause 2.  Stacy prepped some stuff for the Super Duper Yummy Claim Jumper Sour Cream Pumpkin Cheesecake Dessert. If you have not had this delightful delectable dessert, do so before you die.  Stacy found a recipe on the Net that approximates it’s goodness.  We got the kids into bed and worked well together to mix and make the desert. 

And that brings me to the title.  My kids are wonderful.  I know that Stacy and I are not the perfect parents, but we are blessed with good kids.  I love how they want to help out with chores.  I am pleased that they love a good laugh.  I am happy to know that the apple does not fall far from the tree (Ben is becoming a sci-fi/fantasy fanatic like his dad).  I am incredibly blessed to have Stacy for my wife.  She tells me that she loves me.  She gives me hugs and kisses.  She forgives my quirks.  We work well together as evidenced by tonights cooking episode. 

Father God,  you are so very good to me.  Thank you for Jesus’ death on the cross and resurrection.  Thank you for the grace and forgiveness that is supplied abundantly to me through Jesus.  Thank you for my wife.  She has helped me be more real, grow in my faith, and gave me a security of love that models your love.  Thank you for my kids.  They are helping me to learn about your love for us, your children.  I know that there isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for them.  I know that there isn’t anything you wouldn’t do for us.  Thank you for our home. Thank you for good jobs.  Thank you for good friends (Barb, Al, Jackson, Michelle, Kristin, Rick & Dana). Thank you God. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

May you be covered in the dust of your rabbi

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Faith, Rebecca, Stacy

Leave a Reply

