But for the grace of God…

I have new duties at work.  I was a teacher, then a testing coordinator (I oversaw the standardized testing), and now I am an Assessment Instructor.  The title is misleading.  I spend my days reviewing the central files of inmates and interviewing them.  What I do has little to do with education.  As I read these files I am exposed to the horrific depravity that man is capable of.

I was reflecting on this fact the other day.  I felt led to pray.  I praised the Father for His great forgiveness.  I thanked Him for Jesus’ atoning sacrifice on the cross for me, for these men, for everyone on this planet.  I was struck with the verse, “God is not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.”  God is truly gracious, merciful, and patient.

While I would probably prefer to see many of these individuals meet a grisly end for their crimes, God wishes to see them become His children and experience His forgiveness and grace.  Be glad that I am not God! 

Then it struck me.  One choice separates me from these men.  I could have easily fallen into bad company, made poor choices, and become a skallywag felon.  But for the grace of God there go I…

May you be covered in the dust of your rabbi.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

